In community there is hope

Good afternoon everyone! Monday plus daylight savings…ugh!  Anyway, we are so lucky to have a guest blogger again today! My dear friend Lauri Muller has written an amazing devo for us today. Lauri has a heart for the homeless and passion for justice. She is amazing. Enjoy!

Today’s scripture:

Hebrews 10:19-25 (NIV)

A Call to Persevere in Faith

19 Therefore, brothers and sisters, since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus, 20 by a new and living way opened for us through the curtain, that is, his body, 21 and since we have a great priest over the house of God, 22 let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water. 23 Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. 24 And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, 25 not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

hope-quotes-14

Good morning friends!

As I ponder the scripture for today from Hebrews provided by the Common Lectionary, I am struck by the encouragement to hold unswervingly to the hope we profess. I must admit that although I consider myself to be an optimist in most occasions and I love problem solving and generally approach life with a very hopeful “can do” attitude, this past week I have found myself on many occasions falling into a “Oh the heck with it” perspective on many things. Whether that is my utter astonishment at the current political happenings, or frustration around anti-productive methods and unrealistic expectations for our brothers and sisters who have found themselves struggling with homelessness or stress at work and even hitting a plateau in my efforts to slim down and get fit. Maintaining a unswerving hope can be a difficult task to manage.

The good news as we read on in the text is that we have the support of the one who models ultimate faithfulness as our coach. We can take lead from Christ who in the midst of political unrest, social out-casting and his own day-to-day struggles who held steadfast in hope. How does Christ lead us? I believe the last portion of this text sheds some light for us. Pointing us towards community, this text helps us recognize how through coming together we strengthen each other. Yesterday as I was spiraling through some of my hopeless rants I was blessed by the council of friends who spurred my on toward love and good deeds and encouraged me to not give up. We need each other in our pursuit of hope. Perhaps collectively we can more effectively hold unswervingly to the hope we profess. I suppose that means I should reconsider my tentative plans of moving to Canada in November depending on the outcome of the elections. 🙂 Despite our circumstances, we can be drawn together to be encouraging, supportive and loving to one another. In our coming together in love we also draw nearer to that which God has called us to be forgiveness, love and hope.

Leave a Reply

