Oh Jerusalem…

Good Saturday morning! Hope the day has something fun in store for you!

Today’s scripture:

Matthew 23:37-39 (NRSV)

37 “Jerusalem, Jerusalem, the city that kills the prophets and stones those who are sent to it! How often have I desired to gather your children together as a hen gathers her brood under her wings, and you were not willing! 38 See, your house is left to you, desolate.39 For I tell you, you will not see me again until you say, ‘Blessed is the one who comes in the name of the Lord.’”

zoo

I got to go to the zoo yesterday! I love the zoo and I especially love going with one of my favorite two year olds in the whole wide world, Clare.  Clare and her papa called to see if I could go and I said, “yes!” What a great way to actually take my day off. I asked her papa…what’s the weather going to be like? He replied, “Well, rainy and cold…so Oregon weather. Let’s go!”  So we put on our rain jackets and packed our snacks and went anyway even though it was raining and windy and cold…it was perfect. It was also great because there was hardly anyone there but most of the animals were out and awesome.

The picture above is the picture I took when we got to the lions. It was just awesome to see all of them out and present.  The one in front perked up at some point and was at alert as you can see. It was so gorgeous just to watch them and then to watch Clare watch them.  We were extremely close to orangutans and cheetahs, penguins and otters, and watched bears sleep away the cold.  The thing about going with a two year old is remembering that everything is super cool and deserves attention. The great big fish get as much awe as the amazing view of the lions.

I asked Clare at the end of the day what her favorite part of the day was as I picked her up to start back to the car.  She went silent. Her papa and I started chiding her…”the elephants? cheetos at lunch? the goats? seeing other kiddos?” Nothing. Just silence.  So we chuckled and headed back.  When we got in the car she said, “I have been thinking about what Tia asked.”  “What?” “She asked my favorite.” “Oh yeah! What did you decide?”  “The bunny!”  Earlier in the petting zoo she had gotten to be face to face with a very soft bunny and had petted her.  Clare took it all into consideration before answering.  This girl is a deep thinker.

I had the best time just remembering how each creature was amazing..true, you don’t get to all the places in one time (good thing we are all members) and yeah by the end of the day patience became a virtue.  BUT I just kept thinking about how important it is to do all that we can for the earth and our world for these munchkins who are just discovering their place in it.

There are so many exhibits at the zoo about earth preservation and caring for animals (as there should be) and it makes me lament about what we have already done in the world.  It makes me lament about the state of politics and neighbors killing other neighbors either right out or through our practices of pollution and consumerism.  It makes me cry out….Oh world, what we have done?

Jesus stands over Jerusalem and laments.  He laments about the city that doesn’t get it and he laments because he loves so deeply. He will do everything to create space for those redeeming it.  So should we.

Peace,
C

Leave a Reply

