Would you listen?

Hello all!  Hope this Tuesday finds you well!

Today’s scripture: Psalm 17:1-7 (NRSV)

Hear a just cause, O Lord; attend to my cry;
give ear to my prayer from lips free of deceit.
From you let my vindication come;
let your eyes see the right.

If you try my heart, if you visit me by night,
if you test me, you will find no wickedness in me;
my mouth does not transgress.
As for what others do, by the word of your lips
I have avoided the ways of the violent.
My steps have held fast to your paths;
my feet have not slipped.

I call upon you, for you will answer me, O God;
incline your ear to me, hear my words.
Wondrously show your steadfast love,
O savior of those who seek refuge
from their adversaries at your right hand.

0490f7d

Today’s scripture is a Psalm that functions as a prayer of deliverance from those who persecute David.  The Psalm is attributed to David and very well could have been one of his songs.  King David was known for his poetry and music.  The Psalms come from these beautiful poems across time and people in prayer to God. Some of hymns of praise and some are lament. Some are in between like this one and appeal to God for different things.

What struck me about today’s Psalm was the first few lines.  The hymn begins with a request of God to listen to David’s cry.  The NRSV version says, “Hear a just cause, attend to my cry, give ear to my prayer…”

That give ear to my prayer part was the part that got me to perk up.  There is a distinct plea from David to God to even pay attention to what is said.

hands-listen

How often do I just start talking with God without making sure I am in the right space for God to listen?  What if I asked God to join me in the conversation first? What if I asked God to give ear to what I am about to say?

Good conversation is not just about talking at someone but having a back and forth with listening time on both ends, isn’t it? Why would we expect less from God? Why would we just start talking without making the space for God and for us to listen? Prayer takes on so many forms but what if I asked God to listen first? I know God will listen no matter what but what that does is put into a different space for me…the one talking at first. Am I ready to listen for what God has to say if I am just talking without being ready for either to respond?

So today this is what I am trying. Won’t you try it with me?
Peace,
C

Leave a Reply

