A way out of no way

Good morning all!  Here we are at Monday again! Hope your Monday is going ok so far…I woke up with a really really sore throat…let’s pray it goes away…..

Today’s scripture:

Exodus 15:22-27 (NRSV)

22 Then Moses ordered Israel to set out from the Red Sea,and they went into the wilderness of Shur. They went three days in the wilderness and found no water. 23 When they came to Marah, they could not drink the water of Marah because it was bitter. That is why it was called Marah. 24 And the people complained against Moses, saying, “What shall we drink?” 25 He cried out to theLord; and the Lord showed him a piece of wood; he threw it into the water, and the water became sweet.

There the Lord made for them a statute and an ordinance and there he put them to the test. 26 He said, “If you will listen carefully to the voice of the Lordyour God, and do what is right in his sight, and give heed to his commandments and keep all his statutes, I will not bring upon you any of the diseases that I brought upon the Egyptians; for I am the Lord who heals you.”

27 Then they came to Elim, where there were twelve springs of water and seventy palm trees; and they camped there by the water.

sweet wood

I woke up this morning and thought…ugh. Monday.  Who scheduled an early morning meeting on a Monday? I did. ugh. And I am not feeling very great. I have a cough and sore throat and achy-ness all of a sudden this morning. ugh.  blech.  blech.  I don’t have time for this….

Ever have one of these mornings? I grumbled all the way to the shower….too tired this morning to really be all that angry about it.  I wearily got dressed and realized that today is going to be a rough one.  I am tired. Yesterday was full of all sorts of stuff.  I am blessed to work with a dedicated church council but an almost 3 hour intense meeting might have just done me in yesterday…

Blech.

So it was appropriate to find that one of today’s scriptures is all about the people of Israel complaining about the conditions.  I could relate this morning. They are in the middle of the wilderness (we are in the middle of Lent) and it really isn’t all that much fun. They are dealing with dry desert conditions. I thought I would wash or blow away yesterday.Although I am relieved that we have water pouring down again, this probably doesn’t help my mood.

They are whining. I am whining. I really could just curl back up in bed which my body might make me do in a bit.  And then the people of Israel couldn’t even drink the water! They even name the land bitter because that is where we are at this morning.  Bitter that this journey is taking so long and there is not much light at the outset for today. So I went and got more coffee before I read what God would do for the Israelites. I wasn’t ready for God to make it all good. I kinda liked the complaining parts this morning. Moses didn’t seem to mind. He went with it.

Then God shows up and asks Moses to put wood in the water. The water becomes sweet. God says that they will be healed and all shall be well (until the next time they complain). God makes a way out of no way. God hears the complaining and then makes it sweet.  I know that God will make parts of this day sweet as well.  I know that God will mix in some sort of wood to help out the day and make a way out of no way in places I won’t even remember later because it will just become part of Monday.  My task is to watch out and make sure not to grumble when it happens. God can handle my grumbling and my bitter and then God will soothe and surround. That’s what God tends to do. If I really think about it all of a sudden I think of all of the blessings around me. That’s a dangerous space because it means I can grumble as loudly anymore….might be ok too…:)

How are you feeling this morning? Where do you need a little extra sweetness?

Leave a Reply

