Dec. 18

Good morning! One week until Christmas Day! So crazy!

Today’s scripture: Luke 1:39-45
 In those days Mary set out and went with haste to a Judean town in the hill country,  where she entered the house of Zechariah and greeted Elizabeth.  When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the child leaped in her womb. And Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit  and exclaimed with a loud cry, “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb.  And why has this happened to me, that the mother of my Lord comes to me? For as soon as I heard the sound of your greeting, the child in my womb leaped for joy. And blessed is she who believed that there would be a fulfillment of what was spoken to her by the Lord.”

Soooo many things can be communicated without words!  Yesterday, I needed to run to Bi Mart in the morning.  I ran in, got the few things I was looking for.  Enjoyed the Christmas music planning. Chatted with the check out person for a bit since I was the only one in line.  We had a great conversation.  I was thinking this was the beginning of a good day.  I jauntily (the only word I can think of to describe my step) walked out into the parking lot towards my car.  All of a sudden a car RACED (see how I emphasized here?) into the parking lot and I had to jump out of the way before I was run over.  She was in a HURRY!  I peered into the car to see who would run me over…..this woman, I think, really wanted to look like this….
Head to toe, Christmas.  Christmas stuff in hair. Christmas earrings.  Sparkly Christmas shirt.  But her face looked like this….
(Yup, second Grinch reference this year).  She was all scrunched up in her face…and was in such a hurry that she almost took me out!  When I got to my car, I had to giggle.  I was laughing pretty hard.  What was the experience of Christmas for this woman? Decorations and to do lists?  She communicated that with her actions…no words necessary.
Yesterday, I had a few more incidents where words were not necessary.  One of our regulars at the church was exuberant to tell me how long he has been sober.  He didn’t really need to tell me, his brilliance told the story.
Singing Christmas Carols together in a brew pub with 30 people yesterday needed no words to show the pure joy and fun people were having yesterday.  Community rarely needs words to communicate that.
I received a phone call from one of our people yesterday.  Her husband was in the hospital for heart stuff and was going to be transferred to another hospital.  I ran over to visit before he moved.  No words were necessary to communicate the worry, the hope, and the positive future hoped for.
I took communion to a couple yesterday.  We really didn’t need words to share the bread and the wine (or juice).  It was clear that the space became thin space and God broke through without our words.  None necessary.
When Mary goes to visit Elizabeth right after an angel has visited her, Elizabeth needs no words to know that Mary is carrying Jesus.  Elizabeth’s child jumps in womb.  So much is communicated by a visit, a glance, a jump for joy. Elizabeth just knows. Mary has been travelling and fretting and then she sees Elizabeth.  By glancing at Elizabeth, she then can sing out her joy.  It is not until that encounter that Mary is joyful.  She needs time. She needs space. She needs the affirmation from supportive family.  She doesn’t need more words.
Our actions and how we hold ourselves communicates.  We also must look for those actions and how others might be communicating with us.  Are you looking for it? Are you looking for the places where joy jumps in you or in another?  Are you seeing what you communicate about the season?
How will you communicate these days as we wait?
Peace,
Courtney
Leave a Reply

