March 26

Good morning all! Hope Monday is treating you ok so far!

Today’s scripture: 1 CORINTHIANS 14:1-5

1Pursue love and strive for the spiritual gifts, and especially that you may prophesy. 2For those who speak in a tongue do not speak to other people but to God; for nobody understands them, since they are speaking mysteries in the Spirit. 3On the other hand, those who prophesy speak to other people for their upbuilding and encouragement and consolation. 4Those who speak in a tongue build up themselves, but those who prophesy build up the church. 5Now I would like all of you to speak in tongues, but even more to prophesy. One who prophesies is greater than one who speaks in tongues, unless someone interprets, so that the church may be built up.

On Thursday afternoon i went to visit a member of the congregation in her new apartment.  This member has fairly advanced Alzheimer’s and has recently moved to a memory care unit.  I knew that she probably would not know who I was but I wanted to visit and see how she was doing.  When I walked into her apartment she was chatting with a friend, another person in memory care with advanced Alzheimer’s.  Before I went in, I listened just for a moment to their conversation.  I was fascinated to hear that the conversation they were having was basically in a made up language.  There were a few words here and there and some gibberish and then just some form of communication in between.  They were obviously understanding the other even if just for conversation sake.  I had never heard anything like it except from what I hear about the way twins communicate.
This video went viral around facebook at some point to illustrate this point…check it out.
Both of these examples just blew me away.  Not only that but when I walked into the room, both women turned to me as if to invite me into the conversation.  And I reacted much like I would with small children, just as if the conversation made perfect sense.
The friend left the room and I got to visit a bit with who I came to visit.  Our conversation wasn’t deep but it was very pleasant.  She knew that some who loved her had come to visit and get an update on how she was doing.  After a lovely visit, we prayed together and I went on my way thinking about what I had just seen.
In that moment of conversation and understanding between friends, it really didn’t matter what was said.  You could probably even say that it was a form of tongues in that there was definitely sacred space in between.  It also shows me how important community is whether you can put together sentences or not.  Just the act of finding someone who knows you creates day to day life and in fact, creates these moments in time where you feel understood and at home.  Paul was right, anytime we speak in a language that is only of God, is a gift.
Today please think about someone that you can communicate with.  Who are those people in life that you really don’t need actual words to understand? Who are those people that you just know or they just know you?  Today perhaps give them a call or shoot them an email to reconnect and say thanks! This will be part of your prayers today.  To communicate.
Peace,
Court
Leave a Reply

